CANADIAN RAILROAD HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION



Annual Awards 2022

The purpose of the *C.R.H.A. Awards* is to recognize and honour individuals and organizations whose endeavours in the previous year have contributed significantly to the recording and/or preservation of artefacts of historical value related to Canada's railways.

The Canadian Railroad Historical Association is inviting entries for its Annual Award program. The results of the past awards have been featured on the Association's web site, in the pages of Canadian Rail, CRHA Communications, the Divisions' newsletters as well as in other rail publications. Many excellent **articles** about Canadian railways have appeared in 2022 publications. Several

Many excellent **articles** about Canadian railways have appeared in 2022 publications. Several **books** have been published in recent years, now allied to the emergence of **Multi-Media productions** including «Video, Film, DVD & Web Site» creations all of which should be considered for *Awards*. Important **preservation activities** have been undertaken as well, all of which the *Canadian Railroad Historical Association*, with the help of your nominations, wishes to acknowledge by these *Annual Awards*. Your participation is earnestly requested.

The calibre of the selections made over the past several years has been impressive. Your past nominations and help are appreciated by the *Awards Committee* who thanks you for the interest shown in taking the time required to nominations.

Recipients receive a *certificate* from the *Association* to acknowledge their contributions to preserving Canada's railway heritage.

THE CATEGORIES OF AWARDS ARE:

1- Lifetime Achievement Award:

To a person for a significant contribution over a period of years.
 Note: past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award are not eligible for re-nomination

| 2021 | lan Wilson | 2011 | Barrie Sanford | 1999 | Dr. Andrew Panko |
|------|------------------------------|------|-------------------|------|------------------------------|
| 2021 | Mike Westren | 2010 | Doug Smith | 1998 | Mervyn (Mike) Green |
| 2021 | David LI. Davies | 2009 | Ronald S. Ritchie | 1997 | A. Stephen Walbridge |
| 2020 | J.F. John Garden | 2008 | Daniel Laurendeau | 1996 | James A. Brown |
| 2019 | David R. Hendersen | 2007 | Donald Bain | 1995 | David S. Wilkie |
| 2018 | Lorne C. Perry | 2006 | Jacques Pharand | 1994 | Walter J. Bedbrook |
| 2017 | Gerald & Mary Janet Knowlton | 2005 | Robert D. Turner | 1993 | Nicholas Morant |
| 2016 | Marie-Claude Reid | 2004 | Earl Roberts | 1992 | Allan Paterson & Dick George |
| 2015 | Derek Boles | 2003 | Henry W. Ewert | 1991 | Peter Murphy |
| 2014 | Ross Robinson | 2002 | William Lesurf | 1990 | Fred Angus |
| 2013 | Charles DeJean | 2001 | Stephen Cheasley | 1989 | Dr. Robert V.V. Nicholls |
| 2012 | Bill Linley | 2000 | Dr. David Johnson | 1988 | Ray Corley |

2- Preservation Award:

 To a person or a group of people, for an outstanding preservation or restoration activity in the Award year.

3- Article Award (2 prizes):

- For an article published in CANADIAN RAIL or other Division newsletter.
- For an article published in any other periodical or magazine.

4- Book Award

• For a book published in the Award year (2022) or the previous year (2021).

5- Multi-Media Award:

For a Video / Film / DVD / Website on railway related subject.

Nominations will be accepted from members and other persons interested in Canada's railway history. Submissions should bear the <u>name of the nominee</u>, his <u>coordinates</u> (if possible) and the <u>reasons</u> for that person's nomination. The nominator's name and mailing address must be included. Persons or entities other than the nominee should make nominations. A copy of the nominated work should be submitted with the nomination whenever possible. The *Association* guarantees its return to the owner.

Awards <u>nomination forms are also available</u> on the C.R.H.A. *web site* at <u>www.exporail.org</u> Nominations should be submitted as early as possible, but in no case later than **March 31st 2023**.

Canadian Railroad Historical Association
Annual Awards

110 Saint-Pierre Street Saint-Constant, QC J5A 1G7 Canada

email: Linda.schwey@exporail.org

| Submitted by: | |
|---|---|
| Name | |
| Address | |
| Email | |
| Tel | |
| C.R.H.A. Member number. (if applicable) | |
| C.K.H.A. Member humber. (II applicable) | |
| My nomination(s) for : (you can make | extra copies for multiple nominations) |
| Lifetime Achievement Award | Article published in any publication in 2 |
| Preservation Award | Book published in 2022 or 2021 |
| Article published in CANADIAN RAIL or a C.R.H.A. Division publication in 2022 | Multi-Media Award |
| Name / Author | |
| Address | |
| | |
| Email | Tel |
| Title (if applicable) | |
| Type (if applicable) Video Film | _ DVD CD Website othe |
| Published in (if applicable) | Date |
| Reasons for nomination: | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | ······································ |
| | |
| | - |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |